Epiphany

The Lord opened my eyes to something today through a conversation. These words just came out of my mouth and I didn’t think about it.

Now I can’t STOP thinking about it.

It’s a revelation.

Here it is:

Most of the time, when my kids are “driving me crazy” it’s my attitude that’s the problem, not them.

Whoa. I know.

I’m not saying my kids never do anything wrong, but most often when I lose my temper, get annoyed, etc., it’s not just that they’ve misbehaved, it’s that they’ve inconvenienced me.

Some of you might be thinking I’m such a horrible mother for saying that…that my children “inconvenience me.” However, I’m willing to bet that most moms (or parents in general) understand exactly what I’m talking about…if you’re honest.

My oldest child is only 3. Ok, 3 and a half, and she’s really smart, but how much am I really expecting from her? Most of the time…too much, I think.

Often times, I expect my children to…

Understand things they cannot understand.
Do things they physically or mentally cannot do.
Anticipate things they cannot POSSIBLY anticipate.
Pay attention longer than they are actually capable.
Withhold their curiosity.
And so on….

Do you get the picture? The problem with all of this is me. It’s my attitude.

And we’re working on it.

Me and God.

2 comments on “Epiphany

  1. Debbie says:

    You are an awesome woman AND mom! What a great blog today.

Leave a Reply

