A dollar and some change

Last week, I got a wonderful surprise when 2 friends showed up at my house with a pile of stuff….and I mean a pile. Food, toilet paper, diapers, gift cards, money, you name it. It was unexpected, and it was amazing. We were so incredibly blessed by this act.

My friend saw a need, she wanted to help, so she acted on it. She in turn got other people involved which turned into something even bigger and thus all the stuff.

God’s provision. God’s love in action.

Today, the girls and I made a trip to the big W this morning to grab a few things – some formula for Hope, cleaning supplies, and a few other odds and ends.

I was planning to pay using a couple gift cards we’d received for various reasons. It took a while for the first one to work. This had me sweating since I knew we couldn’t really afford the items I was about to pay for. I’m sure I was fidgeting with anxiety. I smiled and apologized for the wait to the woman behind me, and she smiled back saying “No problem.” The cashier finally got it figured out.

It covered about a third of the cost, so I handed her another gift card to cover the remaining total.

She swiped the second card, and I was left with a remaining total of $1.17. Not too much. This I could handle, but as I pulled out my debit card and swiped it, the lady behind me stopped me.

She pulled out cash and insisted on paying for my remaining amount. “No sense in you using your card for that,” she said.

I was in shock.

I must have said, “Thank you” about a hundred times. I also said, “God bless you.”

I even asked if I could give her a hug. She obliged.

I’m sure this woman, and the cashier along with anyone else in line, thought I was making a huge deal about  just $1.17….and I was.

But it wasn’t about the amount. It was about the act.

This woman had blessed me. She allowed herself to be, whether she knew it or not, yet another example of God’s provision for us.

She made my day!

I was practically skipping out of the store, full of excitement (and blog ideas!)

This woman had looked outside of her own bubble and saw a need, just as my friends had. Not a big need, but a need, and had acted on it. Something we don’t see often enough. Something we don’t do often enough.

Something I don’t do often enough.

It was a gentle reminder of love. Love for others. A reminder to look outside of my own bubble. My own family. My own needs.

Sure, my family is hurting…a lot. But we’re not the only ones. Many people are in need or hurting. In fact, MOST people are, and if we just open our eyes, get out of our comfortable little bubble and pay attention, we’ll see opportunities. Opportunities to love. To bless. To fulfill a need.

It may be your friend who is going through difficult times and could use some groceries, or it may just be the hurting stranger in front of you in line at the store.

Who knows? Maybe $1.17 is all it will take to make someone’s day.

Beloved, let us love one another, for love is of God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. He who does not love does not know God, for God is love. ~ 1 John 4:6-8

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal. ~ 1 Corinthians 13:1-3

6 comments on “A dollar and some change

  1. Donna Jo, your blogs always bless my socks off! Absolutely beautiful! What a gift you have for articulating what God is up to in your life! Blessings!

  2. I’m stopping by from The Better Mom link up (we are neighbors) and I’m so glad I did! What a great post, thank you for sharing. I’m so wrapped up in me, I forget to look for others needs. And as you show it doesn’t take much to “make someone’s day”. Some pocket change, a smile or holding a door open can really go a long way.

  3. jenbuckner says:

    Hi, Donna! I am your neighbor at Moms Against Manic Mondays, and I am so glad to meet you and to read this. I am thankful that you are feeling the arms of God in the love of faithful friends and strangers these days in the midst of your family’s time of need. I hope to get to know you more!

Leave a Reply

