When He Provides

I have been doing a pretty good job of keeping up with the checkbook lately. Better than I had been doing.

We’ve been keeping receipts and entering them right away. Rather than waiting 2 weeks and just pulling up our statement online and copying everything down (pointless, right?).

I thought we were okay.

But I messed up. Forgot to write in an automatic payment that comes out in the middle of the month.

I figured out Sunday that we were broke. BROKE.

The problem was we were low on groceries, desperately close to running out of baby formula, and payday wasn’t coming for 3 more days. We could make it without the groceries, but the formula, we couldn’t. I wouldn’t even think about those 2 student loan bills that haven’t been paid yet, and are 2 weeks behind.

So I prayed…and after church, I called my mom, in hopes that she would have some magical answer.  That’s what mamas are for, right? They have the answer to everything…and she did. She prayed.

We both prayed for provision.

I started going through my wallet, searching for money.

I found $6 and some change. I also found an American Express gift card that had $3.22 left on it. Those combined with the $5 formula coupon I had, I figured I could eek by.

Then I found it. A $100 grocery store gift card.

Now, I remember exactly when I was given this grocery card.

And I pretty distinctly remember using said card. In fact, I remember using every bit of that card AND being asked by the cashier whether I wanted it back. I told her to toss it.

At least, that’s what I remember. But this card was in my wallet with the little card along with it that had $100 and my name on it.

That afternoon, I took what I had found, along with that card, to the store. Fully expecting that I would be getting nothing but formula and coming home even $10 broker than I was before.

As soon as I walked in, I went straight to customer service to see if perhaps there was a few dollars left on it that I had perhaps forgotten about.

There were a few dollars all right. 100 of them to be exact!

I immediately thanked the Lord for His provision and answer to our prayers…then I bought groceries.

Let me add to the story, not to gloat, but to remind you that obedience is important to God. I knew that morning before church that money was very tight. My human nature did not want to let my husband give our tithe check that I had written earlier in the week. I knew that was almost the only bit of money left in our account, and we needed it. I also knew withholding from the Lord was not the answer, therefore I submitted. I was obedient to the word, trusting that God would provide our needs…and HE DID!

This is just ONE of the examples of how God has walked with us through this trial. He has provided for us, calmed us, strengthened us, and given us everything else we could possibly need. In our weakness, He has shown himself strong! We prayed from the beginning that He would give us a testimony…and He has done that over and over again.

Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. ~ Matthew 6:31-32

Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? ~ Matthew 6:26

Bring the full tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. And thereby put me to the test, says the Lord of hosts, if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you a blessing until there is no more need. ~ Malachi 3:10

One comment on “When He Provides

  1. Christine says:

    made me tear and cheer up at the same moment, thanks

Leave a Reply

